Worldly Wednesday

When I travel I like to read books either by authors from where I’m going or takes place where I’m going. Fiction, nonfiction, historical or contemporary it doesn’t matter, I just like to immerse myself.  Recently I went to Belgium but unfortunately the only book I read that took place there was The Dead of Mamtez by Jonathan Hicks. It’s a mystery that takes place during WW1 and it was quite atmospheric and interesting twists. I gave thought to reading Niccolo Rising by Dorothy Dunnett because it at least starts out in Brugge, but I decided against it because she’s not vacation reading.  Now that I’m back I’m finding all kinds of books I could have read before or during and now am adding to my ever growing TBR pile.

A brief list;
Square of Revenge by Pieter Aspe, a mystery set in Brugge
Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier, a historical set in Belgium & France
Longest Winter by Alex Kershaw, about the Battle of the Bulge
As Above So Below by Rudy Rucker, about the artist Peter Bruegel
and of course numerous WW1/WW2 books.

Any other suggestions?

Leave a Reply

